13163 146 St
Edmonton AB T5L 4S8

2020 Awards of Excellence Nominees

In every profession, there are those who stand out, who shine brighter. They work hard to lead better, learn more to teach clearer, care more to serve broader.

Every year, the Awards of Excellence honour the stars among Alberta’s Licensed Practical Nurses and those healthcare leaders who support the practical nurse profession.

In 2020, the College of Licensed Practical Nurses of Alberta graciously handed over the Awards of Excellence to be managed by the Fredrickson-McGregor Education Foundation for LPNs. The Foundation’s Selection Committee would like to express appreciation of all those who took the time to nominate someone deserving.

Congratulations to all the 2020 Awards of Excellence nominees. The winners will be announced later this year.

For many years, this announcement would also include the recipients of the David King Educational Bursary, which has now been retired.

LPNs interested in financial support for continuing education are encouraged to access the Foundation’s Education Grants. Up to $1000 per year is available to eligible LPNs.

Pat Fredrickson Excellence in Leadership Award

Honouring LPNs who consistently demonstrate excellence in leadership, advocacy, communication and a passion for the profession.


Stephanie Bitango, LPN
Alison Cada, LPN
Marie Concepcion, LPN
Cathy Croze, LPN
Terry Duce, LPN
Marijke Maltais, LPN
Rosemarie Pinson, LPN
Brenda Propp, LPN
Tammy Tarkowski, LPN
Myrna Tekle, LPN
Ayshea Thornton, LPN
Rhoda Vaness, LPN
Pattie Watt, LPN

Rita McGregor Excellence in Nursing Education Award

Honouring LPN nurse educators or designated preceptors in a clinical setting who consistently demonstrate excellence in providing education in the workplace.


Katlyn Sawatzky, LPN
Nicole Stewart, LPN
Eryn Winfield, LPN

Laura Crawford Excellence in Nursing Practice Award

Honouring LPNs who display exemplary nursing knowledge, promote an atmosphere of teamwork, mentor team members, and show pride in the profession.


Shirley Fraser, LPN
Candace Frey, LPN
Aubrey Guerzon, LPN
Jenny Lyne Ison, LPN
Andrea Keith, LPN
Shaleigh Kuhn, LPN
Marcia Larizza, LPN
Elaine Moquite, LPN
Scott Patterson, LPN

Interprofessional Development Award

Recognizing non-LPN health care leaders who are instrumental in building quality practice environments.


Lyanne Burak, RN
Brenda Bell, RN
Jill Burt, Chaplain

The Fredrickson-McGregor Education Foundation for Licensed Practical Nurses (LPNs) is a non-profit organization which raises, manages and distributes educational grants and awards to members of the College of Licensed Practical Nurses of Alberta (CLPNA) to enhance their nursing knowledge, skills and ability, and honor their achievements.

For more information, please visit the Foundation’s website at



Comments are closed.