13163 146 St
Edmonton AB T5L 4S8

Announcing the Nominees for the 2021 Awards of Excellence

Leadership. Dedication. Advocacy.

Every year, the Awards of Excellence celebrate the best of the best among Alberta’s Licensed Practical Nurses and those healthcare leaders who support the practical nurse profession.

The Foundation’s Selection Committee would like to express appreciation of all those who took the time to nominate someone deserving.

Related – 2020 Awards of Excellence Nominees

Follow the Fredrickson-McGregor Education Foundation on social media for the latest news and updates on how the Foundation is supporting LPN Excellence in Alberta.

Related – Support the Foundation

Pat Fredrickson Excellence in Leadership Award

Honouring LPNs who consistently demonstrate excellence in leadership, advocacy, communication, and a passion for the profession.


  • Maricar Cantos, LPN
  • Rachel Curle, LPN
  • Shelly Dugas, LPN
  • Jackie Gordon, LPN
  • Jenny Lyne Ison, LPN
  • Sandra Kyle, LPN
  • Sarah Payne, LPN
  • Tracy Pelgrim, LPN
  • Rosemarie Pinson, LPN
  • Maggie Stoby, LPN
  • Abigya Tesfaye, LPN
  • Ivana Walcott, LPN

Rita McGregor Excellence in Nursing Education Award

Honouring LPN nurse educators or designated preceptors in a clinical setting who consistently demonstrate excellence in providing education in the workplace.


  • Connie Cooper, LPN
  • Earl Delicano, LPN
  • Kelsey Lewis, LPN

Laura Crawford Excellence in Nursing Practice Award

Honouring LPNs who display exemplary nursing knowledge, promote an atmosphere of teamwork, mentor team members, and show pride in the profession.


  • Akon Akon, LPN
  • Diane Almadrigo, LPN
  • Bradley Dowler, LPN
  • Veronica Esselink, LPN
  • Laurie Finnie, LPN
  • Jenni Gove, LPN
  • Leah Hayes, LPN
  • Oscar Lagenio, LPN
  • Billie-Jo Legroulx, LPN
  • Thomas Lesaichuk, LPN
  • Jasmine Pirie, LPN
  • Christiane Rawlins, LPN
  • Ravneet Sidhu, LPN
  • Doreen Van Eaton, LPN
  • Ivana Walcott, LPN

Interprofessional Development Award

Recognizing non-LPN health care leaders who are instrumental in building quality practice environments.


  • Rebecca Gee, RN
  • Meredith Luipasco, RN
  • Christine Midodzi, HCA

Congratulations to all the 2021 Awards of Excellence nominees. The winners will be announced soon.

The Fredrickson-McGregor Education Foundation is a non-profit organization which manages, and distributes educational grants, awards, and bursaries to LPNs in Alberta to enhance their nursing knowledge, skills and ability, and honor their achievements. LPNs interested in financial support for continuing education are encouraged to access the Foundation’s Education Grants. Up to $1000 per year is available to eligible LPNs.

For further info, contact the Foundation at, 780-484-8886 or 1-800-661-5877 (toll free in Alberta).


Comments are closed.