13163 146 St
Edmonton AB T5L 4S8

Annual Awards Dinner celebrates excellence in Licensed Practical Nursing profession


(Pictured left to right: Shelly Dugas, Lynette Pearse, Angelica De Vera, Amber Sneddon)

More than 350 attendees offered lively rounds of applause celebrating the achievements of the 2018 Awards of Excellence winners and nominees on May 10, 2018.

The College of Licensed Practical Nurses of Alberta (CLPNA) is pleased to honour these individuals as leaders in the LPN profession, representing the diversity and dedication of the profession. LPN winners receive a commemorative award and $1000. Award recipients are selected by a committee of the Fredrickson-McGregor Education Foundation for LPNs on behalf of CLPNA.

Congratulations to Shelly Dugas, LPN, recipient of this year’s Rita McGregor Excellence in Nursing Education Award, honouring an LPN nursing educator or a designated preceptor in a clinical setting who consistently demonstrates excellence in providing education in the workplace. As a clinical learning group leader and theory instructor in the Practical Nurse Program at NorQuest College, Shelly promotes and maintains a supportive learning environment, encouraging knowledge utilization and application to practice. Leading by example, Shelly shows that lifelong learning is a means to success and encourages students to self-motivate for growth.

The Interprofessional Development Award, recognizing a non-LPN healthcare leader who is instrumental in building quality practice environments, was presented to Lynette Pearse, a Registered Nurse at the Rocky Mountain House Hospital. Lynette has 40 years’ experience across three provinces, and is a strong advocate for the nursing unit and the role of the LPN within that team. Described as highly experienced, with excellent leadership skills, Lynette is intuitive to the needs of others, and always positive and encouraging; supporting LPNs to ensure their success.

Angelica De Vera, LPN, Director of Care at Lifestyle Options Terra Losa in Edmonton is this year’s recipient of the Laura Crawford Excellence in Nursing Practice Award, honouring LPNs who display exemplary nursing knowledge, promote an atmosphere of teamwork, mentor team members, and show pride in the profession. Angelica’s leadership is noted with contributions to policy development, quality and risk management, medication and clinical advisory, strategic planning, and the ongoing mentorship, training and support of her colleagues.

Amber Sneddon, LPN, received the Pat Fredrickson Excellence in Leadership Award, honouring LPNs who consistently demonstrate excellence in leadership, advocacy, communication and a passion for the profession. Amber is described as an LPN who always sets the bar high, displaying an unstoppable drive as a true proponent of the Licensed Practical Nursing profession. A sincere, dedicated, straight-forward approach has guided her 17-year career with Alberta Health Services at the Stollery Children’s Hospital, and inspires her ongoing commitment and devotion to the children and families she cares for.




Comments are closed.